Rock River Trail Initiative distributes free oak trees April 25-27

Rock River Trail Initiative distributes free oak trees April 25-27

April 25, 2012

Media Contact: Frank Schier, Rock River Trail Initiative founder and chairman, (815) 670-6440

Editors: See attached press releases for more about tree distribution in respective counties.


Rock River Trail Initiative distributes free oak trees April 25-27

ROCKFORD, Ill. — April 25-27, the Rock River Trail Initiative (RRTI) will be distributing free oak trees to the 11 counties along the Rock River.

Trees will be distributed in Rock Island, Henry and Whiteside counties April 25; Lee, Ogle, Winnebago, Rock and Dane counties April 26; and Jefferson, Dodge and Fond du Lac counties on Arbor Day, April 27.

Each county will receive 910 trees, 455 slated for city and state parks and 455 for businesses and residences. Trees are to be planted within sight of the Rock River.

The 10,000 trees are courtesy of Living Lands and Waters’ One Million Trees Program.

For more about the RRTI, visit

Following is the distribution schedule and information about distribution in each county:

Wednesday, April 25

In Rock Island County, the distribution point will be at Black Hawk State Historic Site maintenance shop, 1510 46th Ave., Rock Island, Ill., April 27, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. If this time is inconvenient, contact Marilyn Andress for an appointment at: (309) 292-0690 or e-mail The Rock Island County RRTI Council Member is Chris Ontiveros, (309) 716-0414, e-mail

For Henry County, contact Henry County Soil & Water Conservation District Administrative Coordinator Sharon Matson (sharon.matson@il.nacdnet) and Resource Conservationist Andrew Brackman (andrew.brackman@il.nacdnet), 301 E. North St., Cambridge, IL 61238. Phone: (309) 937-5263. The Rock River Trail Initiative Council Members for Henry County are Dorothy and Carles Brown of the Natural Area Guardians. Phone (309) 441-5314.

For Whiteside County, contact Whiteside County Soil and Water Conservation District Resource Conservationist Dave Harrison, USDA Bldg. 16255 Liberty St., Morrison, IL 61270. Phone: (815) 772-2124 (Ext. 3). The Rock River Trail Initiative Council member for Whiteside County is Dave Druen of the Tri city Trailblazers and Friends of the Hennepin Canal. Phone (815) 716-3366.

Thursday, April 26

For Lee County, contact Executive Director Debra Carey of the Dixon Park District, 804 Palmyra St., Dixon, IL 61021. Phone: (815) 284-3306. The Rock River Trail Initiative Council member for Lee County is Debbie Thompson, also board member for The Next Picture Show Gallery, artist and canoeist. Phone (815) 440-1476.

For Ogle County, contact Byron Forest Preserve Executive Director Todd Tucker or Superintendent of Education and Recreation Richie Wolf , 7993 N. River Road, Byron, IL 61010-9533. Phone (815) 234-8535. The Rock River Trail Initiative Council members for Ogle County are President and Vice President of the Illinois Renewable Association Drs. Bob and Sonia Vogl, phone (815) 732-7332, and Oregon Park District Superintendent of Recreation Erin Folk, phone (815) 732-3101.

For Winnebago County, contact Rockford Park District Natural Areas Maintenance Coordinator Nate Hill, phone (815) 289-9901 Distribution of the trees will be Saturday, April 28, 2011, from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. as supply lasts at RPD Trolley Station, 302 N. Madison. Phone (815) 987-1661. From 8 a.m to noon, Keep Northern Illinois Beautiful (KNIB), as part of the Great American Clean-up, will offer trees at: • Rockton Village Green Park, 149 E. Chapel St., Rockton; • Roscoe Public Works Building, 5402 Swanson Road, Roscoe; • South Beloit Fire Station, 149 Gardner St., South Beloit; and • New Milford Village Hall, 6771 11th St., New Milford. KNIB phone is (815) 637-1343. The Rock River Trail Initiative Council Members for Winnebago County are Rockford Park District Executive Director Emeritus and Historian Webbs Norman, President of the Illinois Paddling Council Tom Lindblade and The Rock River Times Editor & Publisher Frank Schier, (815) 964-9767.

For Rock County, contact County Conservationist Thomas Sweeney, USDA — Service Center, 440 N US Highway 14, Janesville, WI 53546, located in the USDA Service Center on Highway 14, east of Janesville. Phone (608) 754-6617, ext. 115. Distribution will be Arbor Day, Friday, April 27, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The Rock River Trail Initiative Council members for Rock County are City of Beloit City Councilor Sheila De Forest, phone (608) 312-2695, and Rock County Parks Division Community Coordinator Joleen Stinson, phone (608) 757-5473.

In Dane County, the distribution point will be the offices of Dane County Land and Water Resources Department, 1 Fen Oak Court, Room 208, Madison, WI 53718 ; Contact Pete Jopke by phone at (608) 224-3730 or e-mail The Dane County Rock River Trail Council member is Dave Schreiber, principal, Schreiber/Anderson Associates, phone (608) 255-0800.

Friday, April 27

For Jefferson County, contact Land & Water Conservation Department Director Mark Watkins, 320 Main St., Room 113, Jefferson, WI 53549. Phone: (920) 674-7110 or (920) 674-7111. The Jefferson County Rock River Trail Initiative Council members are Rock River Coalition Secretary and Director James Kerler, phone (920) 648-8005, and Jefferson County Parks Department Director Joe Nehmer, phone (920) 674-7260.

In Dodge County, the distribution point will be the offices of Dodge County Land Conservation Department; 127 E. Oak St.; Juneau, WI 53039; Contact Rock River Trail Council Member Bill Ehlenbeck at (920) 386-3702 or e-mail

In Fond du Lac County, contact City of Waupun Director of Public Works and Rock River Trail Initiative Council Member Dick Flynn, 201 E. Main St., Waupun, WI 53963. Distribution will be at the City Garage, 903 N. Madison, Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Phone (920) 324-7918